August 13, 2022
Cricket News

Annual ICC awards 2017 announced. Here’s the complete winner lists.

Annual ICC Awards 2017 announced. Kohli named cricketer of the year.

Virat Kohli swept annual ICC awards 2017 as he is named the captain of both test and one day side announced by ICC. The Indian skipper was also named cricketer of the year and won Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy for his performance during ICC cut off year of September 2016 to October 2017, which was last won by Ravichandran Ashwin. It is just a case of passing the trophy from one Indian to other.

Yuzvendra Chahal gets rewarded with T20 Performance of the Year in ICC awards 2017. Steve Smith wins the test cricketer of the year award.

ICC Awards 2017: Complete List

Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy for ICC Men’s Cricketer of the Year – Virat Kohli (India). He scored 2203 Test runs , 1818 ODI runs, and 299 T20I runs.

“It means a lot to win to win the Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy for becoming the ICC Cricketer of the Year 2017 and also the ICC ODI Player of the Year. I won that back in 2012 also but it’s the first time winning the Garfield Sobers Trophy, and it’s a huge honour for me. It’s probably the biggest of all in world cricket and two Indians getting it back-to-back makes it more special,” Kohli said.

“Last time it was Ash [Ravichandran Ashwin] and this time I’m getting it, so I’m really really honored and I’d like to thank the ICC for recognizing all the hard work that we all put in for our respective sides and I want to congratulate all the other winners also,” he added.

ICC Awards 2017

Here’s the video message by Virat Kohli.

ICC Men’s Test Cricketer of the Year – Steve Smith (Australia). He played 16 Tests, scoring 1875 runs at an average of 78.12, with eight 100’s and five 50’s !

“It’s called Test cricket for a reason, and I’ve enjoyed that test of my ability over the past 12 months. I was pleased with the way I played but what pleased me most of all was that I helped us win Tests and, most importantly, the Ashes,” Smith said.

Here’s the video message by Steve Smith.

ICC Men’s ODI Cricketer of the Year – Virat Kohli (India). He scored six tons in the format last year, averaging an astonishing 76.84.

<Find other winners by clicking on the next page from below>

ICC Awards 2017

Related posts