August 24, 2019
Image default
Asian Games 2018 Hockey Indian Hockey Team News

Asian Games 2018: Indian women’s hockey team captain Rani Rampal to be the flag bearer in the closing ceremony

Indian women’s hockey team captain Rani Rampal was on Saturday selected as India’s flag-bearer for the closing ceremony of the 18th Asian Games. The news was made official by Indian Olympic Association president and FIH president Narinder Batra.

Rani led Indian women’s hockey team to the finals after a span of 20 years. They came closer to win their second ever gold medal after 36 years but their dreams were shattered by an inspired Japan 2-1 in the final.

India fielded a 572 member squad but most of the athletes have gone back to the country after their events. Choosing the flag-bearer for closing ceremony was based on the availability of the athletes.

Asian champion Neeraj Chopra was India’s flag bearer at the opening ceremony on 18th August.


Related posts