June 25, 2022
2019 Cricket World Cup Cricket News

Big superstars return in West Indies squad for T20 series against India

Big superstars return in West Indies squad for T20 series against India

World champions- West Indies will be up against a determined India in the upcoming three match T20 series, starting 3 August. T20 specialists like Kieron Pollard and Sunil Narine returned to the squad while veteran Chris Gayle was left out of the side. Pollard and Narine were not part of the World Cup squad and they will be hoping to cement their place in the team.

Famous as the Universe Boss, Chris Gayle has made himself unavailable for the T20 series as he will ply his trade in the Global Canada T20 league. MSK Prasad led selection committee announced the Indian team on 21st July.

After a gap of three years, Sunil Narine has returned to the T20 team. He last played against England in the final of World T20 of 2016 in India. On the other hand, Pollard played against India in the last T20 in November 2018. Wicket-keeper batsman Anthony Brambley has been given his debut call-up after impressive run in the domestic cricket.

“This squad is an excellent balance of experience and youth. It’s not just about the present but we are also looking at the T20 World Cup coming up next year and it is important that we find the right combination of players and the right formula for defending our title. We have to make sure that we put certain things in place now so that when it comes to picking the squad for the T20 World Cup, it becomes easier, so we are giving more players the opportunity to play and get the exposure.

“We felt that players like Narine and Pollard, who have played well in T20 leagues around the world, once they are fit and mentally ready to play, we must give them the opportunity to represent the West Indies again,” Cricket West Indies’ interim chairman of selectors Robert Haynes said

Carlos Brathwaite will continue to lead the side in the shortest format. The team boats of some hard hitters like Andre Russell, Shimron Hetmyer and Nicholas Pooran.

Squad for starting two T20Is

John Campbell, Evin Lewis, Shimron Hetmyer, Nicolas Pooran, Kieron Pollard, Rovman Powell, Carlos Brathwaite (c), Keemo Paul, Sunil Narine, Sheldon Cottrell, Oshane Thomas, Anthony Bramble, Andre Russell, Khary Pierre.

Related posts