June 1, 2020
Cricket News

Full list of Indian cricket team’s coaches and support staff

Full list of Indian cricket team's coaches and support staff

Former India opener Vikram Rathore will replace Sanjay Bangar as India’s new batting coach, while Bharat Arun and R Sridhar are retained as bowling and fielding coaches respectively.

From left to right- Saba Karim, Vikram Rathore and Sandeep Patil

The Senior National Selection Committee headed by MSK Prasad has recommended three names for the posts of all support staff and the selected candidates in each category will be appointed after the formalities with regards to Conflict of Interest declaration is complete.

The 50-year-old from Punjab has played 6 Tests and 7 ODIs for the national team in 1996, but remained a domestic heavyweight for Punjab. He was a senior national selector headed by Sandeep Patil till 2016.

He had previously applied for the post of NCA batting consultant and under-19 batting coach, but his brother-in-law Ashish Kapoor was the chairman of the under-19 selection committee.

“Vikram Rathour has got enough experience and we are convinced with his skill sets (as a coach). We will ask him to declare if he has any conflict,” BCCI CEO Rahul Johri told reporters.

As per the selection committee, Sanjay Bangar came second and former England batsman Mark Ramprakash came third.

“The team management had their own views but looking ahead, we felt there should be some freshness in the support staff,” Johri added.

Nitin Patel, who was the member of support staff during the 2011 World Cup is back as the team physio. Englishman Luke Woodhouse was appointed as the strength and conditioning (trainer) coach. Administrative manager Sunil Subramaniam had to lose his job after he misbehaved with the Indian diplomats during the ongoing West Indies tour after which he was called back to the country. He will be replaced by Girish Dongre.

Ravi Shastri will continue to serve as the head coach till 2021 T20 World Cup.

SummaryThis former cricketer likely to become the head coach of Indian team yet again

Head coach: Ravi Shastri
Bowling coach: Bharat Arun
Fielding coach: R. Sridhar
Team physio: Nitin Patel
Strength and conditioning coach: Luke Woodhouse
Administrative manager: Girish Dongre

Related posts