May 27, 2022
Cricket News Top 5/Top 10

ICC awards 2019: Here is the full list of winners

ICC awards 2019: Here is the full list of winners - Digitalsporty

ICC, the world’s highest governing body of cricket, announced the awards for the year 2019 on Wednesday, 15 January 2020. Indian captain Virat Kohli has been elected as the captain of both ICC One-Day and Test teams. Apart from Virat, Rohit Sharma, Mohammed Shami and Kuldeep Yadav are the other Indians to make it into the ICC ODI team of the year, while Mayank Agarwal has been included in the test team as an opener.

Rohit Sharma Best One-Day Cricketer
(PC: Twitter)

In limited overs, Rohit Sharma, vice-captain of Team India, won the title of best one-day cricketer of the year. Running in unmatched form, Rohit had scored 1490 runs in 28 matches of the year 2019, while in the World Cup, he scored 648 runs in 9 matches with a record 5 centuries.

Spirit of Cricket Award to Virat Kohli

Virat Kohli was given the spirit of cricket award after his noble gesture during the World Cup in England. He convinced the hooting fans to cheer and support a returning Steve Smith, who was sidelined due to infamous sandpaper gate controversy in South Africa. Kohli was batting in the match and Smith, who was standing near the boundary at that time, was teased by the fans. Kohli then expressed his displeasure over the gestures and asked the audience to encourage Smith.

Deepak Chahar wins the T20 performer of the year award

Deepak Chahar ruled out of 3rd ODI against West Indies, replacement namedIndian pacer Deepak Chahar was awarded the T20 Performer of the Year. In November, Deepak Chahar took 7 wickets, including a hat-trick by giving away just 6 runs in the Nagpur T20 International match against Bangladesh. He is the first bowler from India to take a hat-trick in T20 International. He recorded the best figures ever by a bowler in T20 format.

Ben Stokes takes ICC men’s cricketer of the year award

England's World Cup hero Ben Stokes nominated for New Zealander of the year awardEngland all-rounder Ben Stokes took the coveted prize for his career defining year of 2019. He was the hero for England in world cup final and his consistent run was a big reason why Eoin Morgan led side won their first ever world cup title. The title was held by Virat Kohli in 2017 and 2018 but Stokes made sure that he is breaking the streak this year.

Full list of award winners

2019 ICC Umpire of the Year Award – Richard Illingworth(England)
2019 ICC Men’s T20 International Performance: Deepak Chahar(India)
2019 ICC Men’s Emerging Cricketer of the Year: Marnus Labuschagne(Australia)
2019 ICC Men’s Associate Cricketer of the Year: Kyle Koetzer(Scotland)
2019 ICC Spirit of Cricket: Virat Kohli(India)
2019 ICC Men’s ODI Cricketer of the Year: Rohit Sharma(India)
2019 ICC Men’s Test Cricketer of the Year: Pat Cummins(Australia)
2019 ICC Men’s Cricketer of the Year: Ben Stokes(England)

Related posts