December 15, 2019
Image default
Cricket News

ICC World Test Championship: Updated points table after India vs Bangladesh test series

Team India have won the first historic day-night test played against Bangladesh at the Eden Gardens in Kolkata. Virat Kohli and company dominated the proceedings throughout the course of three days and won the pink ball test by an innings and 46 runs, thanks to nine wickets haul by Ishant Sharma and Umesh Yadav. With this victory, Team India won the series 2–0 to take full 60 points in ICC World Test Championship points table.

Bangladesh will now have to wait longer for their first test victory against India. After this win over Bangladesh, Team India has taken huge lead in the points table of ICC Test Championship. India now stands with 360 points and former India batting coach Sanjay Bangar even said that India is sure to make the finals of the test tournament and play the finals at London in 2021.

Team India is the only team to win all their matches in ICC Test Championship and retained their first place with 360 points in the World Test Championship by winning the first day-night test, while Australia (116) takes the second place, New Zealand (60) takes the third place, Sri Lanka (60) takes the fourth and world champions England are on the fifth spot(56).

Winning a match in a two-match test series gives 60 points. Winning a match in a three-match series gives 40 points, while a win in a four-match series fetches 30 points. At the same time, winning a match in a five-match series gives 24 points. If a match ends in a draw, both teams get 8-8 points each.

Points table


Related posts