August 18, 2022
Cricket Indian cricket team News

India vs Australia 2018: India announce 12-member squad for first T20I

India vs Australia 2018: India announce 12-member squad for first T20I
(PC: Twitter)

India starts the tour of Australia with the three match T20 series starting in Brisbane on 21st November. Virat Kohli and his men will be looking to win the series and gain the upper hand going into the much hyped test series. Cricket Australia recently didn’t remove the ban imposed on their superstar players like David Warner and Steve Smith who were found guilty in the sandpaper gate controversy in South Africa.

Meanwhile BCCI has announced the 12-member India squad for first T20.

India’s regular opening pair of Rohit Sharma(vice captain) and Shikhar Dhawan will be batting at the top of the order. Virat Kohli will take the all important number three slot.

Team management finally decided to utilize KL Rahul, who is warming the bench from a long time. Rishabh Pant and Dinesh Karthik are the two wicket-keeper batsman in the team and it is likely that Karthik will keep the wickets.

The bowling conundrum

On the bouncy and pace friendly wickets of Australia, if the team management want to stick with three spinners then Bhuvneshwar Kumar and Jasprit Bumrah will be the two pacers playing in the team.

If the team management decides to go with two spinners including bowling all-rounder Krunal Pandya then all the three pacers will play the game.

India’s 12 member squad
(PC: Twitter)

Virat Kohli(c), Rohit Sharma(vc), Shikhar Dhawan, KL Rahul, Dinesh Karthik, Rishabh Pant, Krunal Pandya, Kukdeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Jasprit Bumrah, Bhuvneshwar Kumar and Khaleel Ahmed.

Related posts