June 26, 2022
Boxing Gold Coast Commonwealth Games 2018 News

Indian boxing squad for Commonwealth Games 2018 announced, Mary Kom included.

Indian boxing squad for Commonwealth Games 2018 announced

With less than 1 month left for Commonwealth Games to begin, Boxing Federation of India(BFI) announced Indian boxing squad for Commonwealth Games 2018. India’s veteran boxer MC Mary Kom will lead India’s charge alongside Manoj Kumar.

Naman Tanwar and Gaurav Solanki also made the cut after they booked their berths in the team by winning the category trials, held at the Indira Gandhi Indoor Stadium.

Pinki Rani will be in medal contention, competing in women’s 51 kg category. She won bronze in 2014 Commonwealth Games.

Women’s department also consists Laisharam Devi (60-kg) and Lovlina Boroghain (69-kg) who will look to continue their dominating run of form and return with medals for the country. Devi won silver medal in the last edition of Commonwealth Games.

In men’s 60 kg category, India’s Shiva Thapa is unlucky to be missed out, owing to Manish Kaushik’s heroics against Shiva twice in the past. Manish will make the trip to Gold Coast competing in the men’s 60 kg category.

Olympians like Vikas Krishnan and Manoj Kumar will be leading the Indian line-up in the men’s department. After his courageous performance at the Strandja Memorial tournament, Amit Phangal, has also booked his place in the Indian boxing squad for Commonwealth Games 2018 in men’s 49 kg category. L Devendro Singh won silver in the 2014 edition of the games, competing in the men’s flyweight(49 kg) category. Also, accompanying them will be Hussam Mohammed in the 56-kg category.

World Youth bronze medalist Naman Talwar (91-kg) and the unexpected Gaurav Solanki (52-kg) will also make the cut after their trials were completed on Sunday.

India won 5 medals(4 silvers, 1 bronze) in the 2014 edition of the Commonwealth Games in Scotland

Indian boxing squad for Commonwealth Games 2018

45-48kg: MC Mary Kom
51kg: Pinki Rani
60kg: Laisharam Sarita Devi
69kg: Lovlina Boroghain

46-49kg: Amit Phangal
52kg: Gaurav Solanki
56kg: Hussam Mohammed
60kg: Manish Kaushik
69kg: Manoj Kumar
75kg: Vikas Krishnan
91kg: Naman Tanwar
+91kg: Satish Kumar


Related posts