May 26, 2020
Cricket IPL 2018 News

IPL 2018 Winner: CSK pip SRH to conquer the third IPL title

IPL 2018 Winner: CSK pip SRH to conquer the third IPL title

(Mumbai): Chennai Super Kings finally ended the 7 years drought and won their 3rd IPL title as they thumped Sunrisers Hyderabad in the final by 8 wickets here today. The title win became more significant for the team as they returned to the tournament after facing a 2 year ban. In the process they also became the joint most successful team in IPL history with 3 titles alongside Mumbai Indians. ipl 2018 winner

Earlier Chennai won the toss and asked SRH to bat first. In an unexpected manner several changes were made in both the teams. For CSK, out of form Harbhajan Singh made way for Vidharba’s Karn Sharma and for SRH, injured Wriddhiman Saha made way for Shreevats Goswami and Khaleel Ahmed made way for Sandeep Sharma.

SRH suffered an early blow at a score of 13 as Shreevats Goswami(5 of 5 balls) went for a sharp second run only ending up being run out. Dhawan and Williamson steadied the innings and added 51 runs for the second wicket before Dhawan(26 of 25 balls) was bowled by a beauty by Ravindra Jadeja.

Shakib joined Williamson in the centre and notched a 37 runs stand before Williamson(47 of 36 balls) was tricked by a outside off delivery by Karn Sharma and Dhoni was quick to bell the stumps.

The experienced Yusuf Pathan(45 of 25 balls) then made his way to the centre and took the baton on his hand. He first added 32 runs with Shakib(23 of 15 balls), 11 runs with Deepak Hooda(3 of 4 balls) and provided the late flourish with Carlos Braithwaite(21 of 11 balls) to take the score to 178/6 after 20 overs.

Deepak Chahar- 0/25

Lungi Ngidi- 1/26

Shardul Thakur- 1/31

Karn Sharma- 1/25

Dwayne Bravo- 1/46

Ravindra Jadeja- 1/24

Chasing a mammoth target of 179 runs, CSK started on a slow note which did not persist for a long time as the saviour of the 1st qualifier Faf Du Plessis(10 of 11 balls) was caught and bowl by Sandeep Sharma. Suresh Raina arrived to the crease and steadied the innings with Shane Watson. The pair scored some quick runs and shifted the momentum on their side by notching a match turning partnership of 117 runs of just 57 balls before Raina was dismissed on a personal score of 32 of 24 balls.

SRH wanted the eagle to finally land and eeke out an opportunity, however, Watson(117 of 57 balls) had some other plans as he scored his second hundred of the season and notched an unbeaten partnership of 48 runs alongside Ambati Rayudu(16 of 19 balls) to make it a one sided encounter in the final.

Bhuvnseshwar Kumar- 0/17

Sandeep Sharma- 1/52

Siddharth Kaul- 0/43

Rashid Khan-0/24

Shakib Al Hasan- 0/15

Carlos Braithwaite-1/27


IPL 2018 Winner: Chennai Super Kings beat Sunrisers Hyderabad by 8 wickets

SRH 178/6- Kane Williamson(47), Lungi Ngidi 1/26.

CSK 181/2- Shane Watson(117), Carlos Braithwaite 1/27


Related posts