May 26, 2020
2019 Cricket World Cup Cricket News

Mohammad Azharuddin picks India’s playing XI for World cup

Mohammad Azharuddin picks India's playing XI for World cup
(PC: Twitter)

The build to the upcoming cricket world cup has allready started with less than four months left for cricket’s biggest extravaganza to begin in England and Wales. All the ten participating teams have allready started finalizing their 15-man squad for the event.

India led by Virat Kohli will next play the T20 and ODI series against Australia which will be their last bilateral series before the world cup. There are many questions for the team management to answer about the playing XI of the men in blue, especially the batting order.

Many former cricketers have also given their expert comment and predicted India’s 15-man squad for the marquee event. However, former India skipper Mohammad Azharuddin has gone one step ahead and predicted India’s playing XI for the world cup.

Rishabh Pant at number four

The man from Hyderabad didn’t do any shuffling at top order and opted for regular openers in Rohit Sharma and Shikhar Dhawan. Skipper Virat Kohli will take the all important number three slot and interestingly, Delhi wicket-keeper batsman Rishabh Pant will take the number four slot in his team.

Azhar felt that Rishabh Pant’s aggressive style gives him an edge over Ambati Rayudu and should be preferred over the him in the squad.

Mahendra Singh Dhoni will take the number five slot and will keep the wickets. He will be followed by all-rounder Kedar Jadhav who will act as the finisher and the second spinner in the team.

Hardik Pandya will bring the right balance to the team courtesy of his medium pacers and aggressive style of batting.

Azhar further revealed his bowling line-up where Bhuvneshwar Kumar will spearhead the pace attack alongside Mohammed Shami and Jasprit Bumrah. Kuldeep Yadav or Yuzvendra Chahal will be the one specialist spinner in the team.

Mohammad Azharuddin’s India’s playing XI for the world cup

Shikhar Dhawan, Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli (C), Rishabh Pant, MS Dhoni, Kedar Jadhav, Hardik Pandya, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Shami, Kuldeep Yadav /Yuzvendra Chahal.

Related posts