August 14, 2022
Cricket Indian cricket team News

Preview: India vs Bangladesh in Nidahas trophy finals 2018

Preview: India vs Bangladesh in Nidahas trophy finals 2018

(Colombo): India will start as the favorites against Bangladesh in the Nidahas Trophy finals 2018, despite fielding a second-string squad for the series. The Rohit Sharma led Indian team is coming on a back of three straight wins after a shocking defeat to Sri Lanka in the tournament opener. Bangladesh on the other hand lost both their matches against India but they managed to beat Sri Lanka in two encounters that helped their cause to qualify for the finals. Sri Lanka on the other hand, would be disappointed not to make the final in their home tournament which also marks Sri Lanka’s 70 year of Independence.

  • India have claimed victory in each of their previous seven clashes with Bangladesh.

Rohit Sharma getting back to form with a brilliant 89, is a happening news for India and a danger signal for Bangladesh ahead of the summit clash. Shikhar Dhawan has also provided the solid foundation at the start and will again look to continue his good run of form to win the trophy for India. Suresh Raina and Dinesh Karthik have provided the right stability to the team and can also be on the attack mode as per the situation demands.

  • There’s a 50 percent chance of thundershowers during late afternoon and early evening.

In the bowling department, Mohammad Siraj who proved to be expensive in the last match, is likely to make way for Jaydev Unadkat. The young Washington Sundar’s exploits in the powerplay has done wonders for the Indian team. Yuzvendra Chahal and Shardul Thakur have been amongst the wickets and will again be pillar of strength in Indian bowling line-up, when they square off against Bangladesh in Nidahas trophy finals 2018.

  • India have been victorious in 9 of their 11 outings at R. Premadasa Stadium in Colombo.

Bangladesh on the other hand have proved to be most inconsistent team in the tournament. Their batters have fired against the Lankans but could not manage to put up a great show against this Indian team. However after a virtual semi final win against Sri Lanka they are emotionally charged and are ready to turn the tables against the second tier Indian team. Bangladesh are expected to not make any changes and play the same side that clinched a win against Sri Lanka and booked them a place in the final.

Bangladesh’s batting will again rest on the shoulders of Tamim Iqbal, Liton Das, Mushfiqur Rahim and the hero of last match Muhmudullah Riyad. While the addition of Shakib Al Hasan has strengthen the batting as well as the bowling department.

Mustafiqur alongside Rubel Hossain will look to go through the Indian batting line up with their sparkling quicks. Accompanying them will be Mehidy Hasan and Nazmul Hasan.

Tigers are renowned for turning it down in their favour through their surprise attack on the opposition and Shakib & company will be eager to repeat the same story and create an upset against the Indians. But it will still be like an Everest to climb for the Bangladeshi team.

Not to forget, India were the favorites going into the Champions trophy 2017 finals against Pakistan. However a brilliant show by the Pakistani batting line up proved too good for the Indian bowling on that day. Their bowlers also dominated the proceeding and handed over a embarrassing 180 runs defeat to Indian team, which looked way better than the Pakistanis on the paper.

Bangladesh could get some inspiration from Pakistan’s performance and should not be hesitant to be called an “underdog” today.

Match Prediction(According to our survey)

India: 70%

Bangladesh: 30%.

Betters Prediction

India: 90%

Bangladesh: 30%

Probable teams for Nidahas trophy finals 2018


Indian XI: Rohit Sharma (c), Shikhar Dhawan, KL Rahul, Suresh Raina, Manish Pandey, Dinesh Karthik (w), Vijay Shankar, Washington Sundar, Shardul Thakur, Jaydev Unadkat, Yuzvendra Chahal.

Bangladesh XI: Tamim Iqbal, Liton Das, Soumya Sarkar, Mushfiqur Rahim (w), Shakib Al Hasan (c), Mahmudullah, Sabbir Rahman, Mehidy Hasan, Rubel Hossain, Mustafizur Rahman, Nazmul Islam.

Related posts