August 13, 2022
Cricket News

Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy 2021 final: Tamil Nadu egde past Karnataka courtesy Shahrukh Khan’s brilliance

Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy 2021 final: Tamil Nadu egde past Karnataka courtesy Shahrukh Khan's brilliance

Tamil Nadu won the 2021 edition of Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy after they pip Karnataka by 4 wickets to retain their title courtesy Shahrukh Khan’s brilliance. With the win, Tamil Nadu became the most successful side in the history of Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy by winning three titles(2006/07, 2020/21, 2021/22). Earlier in the match, Tamil Nadu won the toss on a sunny day at Arun Jaitley stadium in Delhi and asked a strong Karnataka batting line up to bat first. Karnataka didn’t got off to a great start as Rohan Kadam(0) and Manish Pandey(13 off 15 balls) could not trouble much as R Sai Kishore(3/12) spun the web around the two openers. Karnataka lost early wickets but it was the partnership of wicket-keeper Sharat(16 off 20) and Abhinav Manohar(46 off 37) that put Karnataka in a comfortable position.

Final over flourish by J Suchith ensured that Karnataka reach 151/7 at the end of 20 overs. Sandeep Warrier, Sanjay Yadav and T Natarajan returned with 1 wicket each.

Tamil Nadu got off to a decent start courtesy Hari Nishanth(23 off 12) and N Jagadeesan(41 off 46) but the middle overs is always the key and TN lost their way around in the middle overs when they failed to score a single boundary in the eight overs. Jagadeesan and Shankar played slow in the middle overs and when they wanted to accelerate in the 16th over by KC Cariappa, they lost their wickets.

When things were looking bleak for Tamil Nadu, a hard hitting Shahrukh Khan changed the complexion of the match as he scored quick fire 33 off just 15 balls as he hit a last ball six to seal the deal for the defending champions. KC Cariappa was the pick of the Karnataka bowlers with a figure of 2/23 but it was not enough to seal the match for his side.

Shahrukh Khan was adjudged the man of the match for his heroic innings that won the game for Tamil Nadu.

Related posts