August 14, 2022
2019 Cricket World Cup Cricket News

World Cup 2019: Phil Tufnell predicts the winner, semi-finalists and man of the tournament

World Cup 2019: Phil Tufnell predicts the winner, semi-finalists and man of the tournament

The cricket world cup started with hosts England thumping South Africa in world cup opener with a massive margin of 104 runs to start their world cup campaign on a high. The world cup got underway on May 30 and will conclude on July 14, with the finals at the iconic Lord’s in London.

England are the firm favourites to lift the trophy, however some experts claim India to be a force to reckon with alongside Australia who are high in confidence after pipping India 3-2 in India and clean sweeping Pakistan 5-0 in United Arab Emirates(UAE). The returning Steve Smith and David Warner will add more strength to the team.

Phil Tufnell’s predictions

The former England spinner backed his home side to lift the world cup trophy. He further picked hosts England, India, Australia and New Zealand to make the last four of the tournament.

England kick started their world cup campaign on a high after thumping South Africa in the world cup opener by 104 runs at Kia Oval in London. Defending champions Australia will kickstart their world cup campaign against minnows- Afghanistan on June 1 in Bristol.

2015 semi-finalists India will start their world cup campaign against South Africa on June 5 in Southampton while 2015 finalists New Zealand will begin their world cup journey against Sri Lanka on June 1 in Cardiff.

Player of the tournament, highest run getter and wicket taker

Tufnell backed England’s Jonny Bairstow to make the most of batting at the top order and emerge as the highest run getter of the tournament. At the pace friendly conditions in England, the former spinner backed Adil Rashid to emerge as the highest wicket taker of the tournament.

The 53-year-old backed Jos Buttler to be the man of the tournament and help England lift their maiden world cup.

Phil Tufnell’s predictions summary

Winner: England
Semi-finalists: India, England, New Zealand, Australia
Man of the tournament: Jos Buttler
Top run scorer: Jonny Bairstow
Top wicket taker: Adil Rashid

Related posts