May 28, 2022
Cricket News

Australia announce squad for ODI series against India, six senior players dropped

Australia announce squad for ODI series against India, six senior players dropped
(PC: Twitter)

With the test series almost gone from their hands, Australia will now eye revenge with a win in the ODI series. Meanwhile, Cricket Australia have announced the squad for ODI series against India and dropped six senior players and rested three pacers from the team.

Peter Siddle who last played an ODI in 2010, returned to the squad alongside Nathan Lyon who continues to impress in the test series.

Interestingly, aggressive opener Chris Lynn alongside Travis Head, D’Arcy Short and Ben McDermott have been dropped from the team. Promising all-rounder Ashton Agar was also not included in the squad alongside Nathan Coulter Nile.

Australia’s pace trio of Pat Cummins, Mitchell Starc and Josh Hazlewood was rested for the series.

“Travis Head, Darcy Short and Chris Lynn have been unlucky to miss out. All three have had opportunities to cement their spots, but unfortunately, they have not been as productive as we would have liked in recent times when playing ODI cricket for Australia,” said Australia’s chief selector in ODI’s and tests Trevor Hohns.

The selectors have invested in the young bowling talents who impressed in the ongoing season of Big Bash League and named Jhye Richardson, Jason Behrendorff and Billy Stanlake in the team.

Australia ODI squad

Aaron Finch (C), Jason Behrendorff, Alex Carey (wk), Peter Handscomb, Usman Khawaja, Nathan Lyon, Mitch Marsh, Shaun Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, Jhye Richardson, Peter Siddle, Billy Stanlake, Marcus Stoinis, Adam Zampa

Related posts