August 13, 2022
Cricket News

Indian squad for test series against South Africa, senior player dropped

Indian squad for test series against South Africa, senior player dropped

KL Rahul’s poor run of form didn’t help his cause as he was sidelined from India’s test squad for South Africa series. The Gandhi-Mandela test series will begin from 2nd October, which is celebrated as Gandhi Jayanti.

On Thursday afternoon in Mumbai, the selectors announced 15-member team after talking to captain Virat Kohli, who is currently in Delhi. On the expected terms, opener KL Rahul did not found a place in the team and Punjab batsman Shubman Gill was given a debut call up, after impressive run in India A tours.

Another U19 star eyeing a place in the Indian team
Shubman Gill (TWITTER)

The team will be led by Virat Kohli with his deputy being Ajinkya Rahane. Selector MSK Prasad said that they want to try Rohit Sharma as an opener in the longest version of the game after success in shorter formats.

It is likely that Mayank Agarwal will open the batting alongside Rohit Sharma. Pujara will take the number three slot followed by Virat and Rahane.

Hanuma Vihari certain his place in the team after impressive performance in West Indies and will be joined by Rishabh Pant at number seven. The team management is likely to go with Ravindra Jadeja as the lone spinner in the playing 11.

The ever dependable fast bowling trio of Mohammed Shami, Jasprit Bumrah and Ishant Sharma is expected to create havoc for the Proteas batsman.

The first test begins on 2nd October in Visakhapatnam followed by game in Pune(10-14 October) and Ranchi(19-23 October)

India’s squad for 3 Tests: Virat Kohli (Capt), Mayank Agarwal, Rohit Sharma, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane (vc), Hanuma Vihari, Rishabh Pant (wk),Wriddhiman Saha (wk), R Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohammed Shami, Jasprit Bumrah, Ishant Sharma, Shubman Gill

South Africa’s Test squad: Faf du Plessis (C), Temba Bavuma (VC), Theunis de Bruyn, Quinton de Kock (WK), Dean Elgar, Zubayr Hamza, Keshav Maharaj, Aiden Markram, Senuran Muthusamy, Lungi Ngidi, Anrich Nortje, Vernon Philander, Dane Piedt, Kagiso Rabada and Heinrich Klassen.

Related posts