August 7, 2020
Cricket News

India’s next head coach confirmed by Kapil Dev led CAC

India's next head coach confirmed by Kapil Dev led CAC

Ravi Shastri is almost certain to continue as the head coach as the the Board of Control for Cricket in India’s Committee of Administrators has made it clear that they won’t give the post to any foreign coach. Cricket Advisory Committee (CAC) is led by 1983 World Cup winning skipper Kapil Dev and is accompanied by Anshuman Gaekwad and Shantha Rangaswamy.

A report in India Today, states that one of the member of CAC has said that the men in blue have turned out well under Ravi Shastri and he is likely to continue as the coach.

We are not too keen to bring in a foreign coach. Yes, had someone of the stature of Gary Kirsten applied, we might have given it a thought. But even then, an Indian would have always been the priority. After all, the team has also done well under an Indian head coach, so why look for a change? As things stand now, Shastri does look to be the favourite to be handed a fresh contract,” the CAC member said as quoted by a report in India Today.

In case there is a split decision of the three members of CAC, the vote of the chairman will come in and the decision will stand.

Earlier, there were reports that Kings XI Punjab head coach and former Kiwi coach Mike Hesson may become the head coach of Virat Kohli led side.

Gary Kirsten, Mahela Jayawardene, Tom Moody and Virender Sehwag are the other probable’s to become the next India coach.This big name from IPL can become the head coach of India after pipping Kirsten, Sehwag and Shastri

The CAC is yet to receive a date from the board as to when the shortlisted candidates will be interviewed. The applications for the India head coach was closed on July 30.

Here are some of the eligibility criteria set by BCCI to become Indian cricket team’s coach

1- Head coach of a test playing nation for a minimum of two years, or

Head coach of Associate member /IPL or Equivalent International Leagues/First Class Teams/ National A teams.

2- Should have played in a minimum of 30 test matches or 50 ODIs for his country, or

Should possess Level 3 Certification or equivalent

3- Below 60 years of age

Related posts