June 13, 2024
2019 Cricket World CupCricketNewsTop 5/Top 10

ICC reveals the list of top five “Special” batsman, no Virat Kohli in the list

ICC reveals the list of top five "Special" batsman, no Virat Kohli in the list

The recently concluded cricket world cup turned out to be a record breaking platform for the batsman who made the most of flat tracks in England. ICC revealed a list of top five batsman from the tournament and included Indian opener Rohit Sharma, who finished as the top run scorer with 648 runs in just 9 innings which included five record breaking centuries against South Africa, Pakistan, England, Bangladesh and Sri Lanka. The 32-year-old failed to fire when it mattered the most and got dismissed cheaply on 1 run in the semi-final clash against New Zealand at Old Trafford.

ICC’s cricket world cup twitter handle tweeted a video and captioned “These five batsmen were pretty special at #CWC19.”

David Warner also featured in the list, who scored 647 runs in the tournament in 10 innings to emerge as a match winner for the Australian team. Warner proved a point after returning from a ban of one year, imposed after he was found guilty in sandpaper gate controversy that took place in South Africa last year.

Bangladesh’s Shakib-al-Hasan’s heroics went in vein as the Bangla tigers were knocked out after the league stage but his impressive run was recognized by ICC, who included him in their list. The 32-year-old batted at number three and scored 606 runs in eight innings at an impressive average of 71.89. His lowest score in the tournament was 41 runs which came against Australia. He also proved his worth with the ball and picked 11 wickets.

New Zealand skipper won many hearts by his cool and composed nature which also helped him become the man of the tournament for his impressive performance with the bat. He scored 578 runs in 9 innings at an average of 82.57.

Joe Root again proved to be the pillar of strength for England as he scored 556 runs in 11 innings at an average of 61.78, which helped his side to win their maiden world cup crown.

Related posts