June 13, 2024

IPL 2021 Final: Best reactions after CSK pip KKR to win 4th IPL trophy

IPL 2021 Final: Best reactions after CSK pip KKR to win 4th IPL trophy

Chennai Super Kings won the final of IPL 2021 after they defeated Kolkata Knight Riders by 27 runs to win their fourth IPL trophy. Earlier in the match, KKR won the toss and chose to bowl first. CSK got off to a good start courtesy du Plessis’ and Gaikwad’s 61 run stand for the first wicket. The men in yellow didn’t lose momentum after the fall of Gaikwad(32 off 27 balls) after Robin Uthappa’s quickfire 31 off 15 balls helped the cause of MS Dhoni led team. In the death overs, Moeen Ali(37 off 20 balls) and du Plessis’ (86 off 59 balls) wrecked havoc on the opposition bowlers. Sunil Narine contained the batsman and picked two wickets but no other bowler joined the party.

KKR got off to a thunderous start courtesy Iyer and Gill’s 91 run stand but Shardul Thakur had other plans as he send Iyer and then Nitish Rana to the pavilion. KKR never gained the momentum thereafter and kept losing wickets which became the reason for their downfall. Shubman Gill held one end of the wicket but Deepak Chahar found him leg before wicket to send him packing. Sunil Narine could not replicate his magic and could only manage 2 runs. Most experienced pairing of Dinesh Karthik and Eoin Morgan disappointed which added to team’s agony. Lockie Ferguson and Shivam Mavi managed some quick runs down the order but it was always not going to be enough as they could only manage 165/9 in their course of 20 overs.

After finishing in the bottom of the table last year, this is some sort of comeback from the Chennai Super Kings as they captured their fourth IPL trophy and retain their spot of being the second most successful IPL team after Mumbai Indians. Mumbai Indians are the most successful IPL team with five trophies.

Here are the best reactions after CSK won the trophy after their pipped KKR by 27 runs-

Related posts