May 24, 2024

Rohit Sharma to lead Indian team in the T20 world cup 2024 as selectors name 15 member squad

Rohit Sharma to lead Indian team in the T20 world cup 2024 as selectors name 15 member squad

Seven months down the corner and another Rohit Sharma led team will have another opportunity to get their hands on an ICC trophy as India will take the ground in the ICC T20 world cup which is scheduled in USA and West Indies from June 2024. Its worth mentioning that India last won an ICC trophy way back in 2013 which was champions trophy and since then have reached the finals of 2014 t20 world cup, 2015 ODI world cup semi finals, 2016 T20 world cup semifinals, 2017 Champions trophy finals, 2019 ODI world cup semi finals, 2022 T20 world cup semi finals and finally 2023 ODI world cup finals.

The selection committee led by former India pacer Ajit Agarkar named Rohit Sharma as the skipper of the team while Hardik Pandya will be his deputy. LSG skipper KL Rahul had to miss out on a spot in the team as in form Sanju Samson and a resurgent Rishabh Pant were preferred over him in the squad. The journey of Pant from a deadly accident to an impressive IPL has paved way into the Indian team again.

Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Siraj and Arshdeep Singh will be the pace trio and spin twin of Yuzvendra Chahal and Kuldeep Yadav will look to spun a web around the opposition in the world cup.

The selection panel has also chosen four reserve players which include Shubman Gill, Rinku Singh, Khaleel Ahmed, Avesh Khan.  

The marquee T20 extravaganza will begin on June 1 in USA and West Indies and all teams were asked to submit their 15 member squad till 1 May.

Squad: Rohit Sharma (c), Hardik Pandya (vc), Yashasvi Jaiswal, Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Rishabh Pant (wk), Sanju Samson (wk), Shivam Dube, Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Arshdeep Singh, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohd. Siraj


View this post on Instagram


A post shared by Team India (@indiancricketteam)

Related posts