June 21, 2024

These cities will host the playoffs and final of IPL 2019

These cities will host the playoffs and final of IPL 2019

The 12th edition of Indian Premier League(IPL) is allready par its midway stage with 5-6 games left per team. Chennai Super Kings are consolidating its position at the top followed by Mumbai Indians, Delhi Capitals and Sunrisers Hyderabad.

The schedule of the IPL arrived late which also didn’t unveiled the venue for playoffs and final of the tournament. After much speculation, Hyderabad is confirmed to host the final of the ongoing season at the Rajiv Gandi International stadium.

Chennai’s MA Chidambaram stadium was originally scheduled to host the final but the governing council decided to go against it after Tamil Nadu Cricket Association(TNCA) opted to not open three stands- I, J and K. Chennai will now host the Qualifier 1 and coastal city of Visakhapatnam will host Eliminator and second qualifier, as per the reports in Times Now.

Change in plans

The IPL playoff takes place at the home ground of winner and runner-up of the last season which means that Chennai and Hyderabad was to host the playoffs of the ongoing season. Chennai got its share but Hyderabad was denied the hosting right as the general elections is schedule to take place on May 6, 10 and 14 which brought Vizag into the equation.

On a glance
  • Final- Rajiv Gandhi stadium, Hyderabad
  • Qualifier 1- Chepauk stadium, Chennai
  • Eliminator and Qualifier 2- Dr. Y. S. Rajasekhara Reddy ACA–VDCA Cricket Stadium, Vizag

Related posts