December 10, 2023
2019 Cricket World CupCricketNewsVideos

Video: Yuvraj Singh’s shocking dismissal in Global T20 Canada debut

Video: Yuvraj Singh's shocking dismissal in Global T20 Canada debut

After the conclusion of the ICC World Cup 2019, cricket legends are once again playing under the same roof at Global T20 Canada 2019. Yuvraj Singh, who had recently retired from International cricket was plying his trade for Toronto Nationals as their captain. However, he didn’t have a great outing as he became a victim of bad umpiring on the very first day of the tournament. He didn’t look in good touch and made 14 runs in 27 balls against the Vancouver Knights.

Rizwan Cheema dismissed him but in the video replay it was clear that Yuvraj was not out. In the 17th over bowled by medium-pacer Rizwan Cheema, Yuvraj Singh nicked the ball to wicket-keeper Tobias Visee, who could not cling onto the catch.

However, the ball deflected off wicket-keeper’s gloves and hit the stumps when Yuvi’s foot was inside the crease. The former Indian International thought that he didn’t made the crease and walked off the field without waiting for umpire’s decision. Even the on-air commentator were convinced that Yuvraj was not out but they were surprised after he departed and Kieron Pollard came to the crease.

Watch the video

The Toronto National managed to score just 159 runs courtesy last overs flourish from Kieron Pollard(30 off 13 balls) and Heinrich Klaasen(41 off 20 balls).

Vancouver Knights reached the target with ease in 17.2 overs, despite poor show from veteran T20 specialist Chris Gayle(12 off 10 balls). In the second season of Global T20 Canada, six teams are fighting for the coveted title. They are- Vancouver Knights, Winnipeg Hawks, Edmonton Royals, Montreal Tigers, Toronto Nationals and Brampton Wolves.

The league features some of the biggest International stars like- Kane Williamson, Chris Gayle, Yuvraj Singh, Andre Russell, Dwayne Bravo, Sunil Narine, Shahid Afridi, Faf Du Plessis, Shoaib Malik, Chris Lynn, Shakib al Hasan, Colin Munro, Thisara Perera, Brendon McCullum and many others.

Related posts