January 27, 2020
Image default
2019 Cricket World Cup Cricket News

Cricket bookies and betters predict the winner and highest run scorer of 2019 World Cup

India defeated a low lying Sri Lanka by 7 wickets to confirm their spot at the numero uno position in the points table. The Dimuth Karunaratne led team posted a total of 264/7 runs at the end of 50 overs courtesy Angelo Mathews brilliant 113 off 128 balls to take his team to a fighting total. Jasprit Bumrah was the star for India in the bowling department with three wickets.

Lot was expected from Lasith Malinga in his farewell world cup game for the Islanders but he failed to make a mark as Indian openers looked in the sublime touch right from the word “go”. They added 189 runs for the first wicket to consolidate take India in a dominant position. Both KL Rahul(111 off 118 balls) and Rohit Sharma(103 off 94 balls) struck a century followed by an unbeaten 34 by Virat Kohli to give India a 7 wickets victory and finish the league stage with 16 points in 9 games that includes a rain washed game against New Zealand.

On the other hand, Australia lost a high scoring thriller against a low lying South Africa by 10 runs to finish at number two spot in the points table. South Africa posted a total of 325/6 courtesy Faf Du Plessis 100 off 94 balls and Rassie van der Dussen’s 95 off 97 balls.

In reply, Australian openers failed to fire and the untested middle order failed to perform that became the reason for their demise. Wicket-keeper batsman Alex Carey and lower order batsman showed some intent but it was not enough to win the game for the Australian team. Kagiso Rabada was the highlight in the bowling department as he scalped three crucial wickets.

Bookies predicts the winner

After the conclusion of league stage, we have our four semi-finalists- India(1), Australia(2), England(3) and New Zealand(4). Virat Kohli’s side will face a depleted New Zealand in the first semi final on 9th July at Manchester while an in form England will clash against their Ashes rivals Australia in the second semi-final on 11th July at Birmingham.

According to the betting odds, India is the favourite to win the ongoing World Cup in England and Wales. Leading online betting websites like Betway and Ladbrokes have favoured India to lift the cup on 14th July at Lord’s.

Ladbrokes pinned the odds of an absolute win by India at 13/8. They were followed by hosts- England (15/8), defending champions- Australia (11/4) and the least favourite- New Zealand (8/1).

Betway also favoured India to win the World Cup and fixed the odds at 2.8, followed by England (3), Australia (3.8) and New Zealand (9.5).

The betting odds of Ladbrokes favours Rohit Sharma to be the highest scorer in the tournament (8/13 bet rate), followed by Australia’s David Warner (11/8) and England’s Joe Root (20/1).

Understanding the bet

A 13/8 bet means that the amount one bets for will be multiplied by 13 and then divided by 8. For example if you bet 1,000 rupees and odds are 13/8 then your winnings will be-

(Rs 1,000 x 13)/8 + Rs 1,000 = Rs 2625


Related posts