June 13, 2024

Australian team announced for India ODI series in January

Australian team announced for India ODI series in January

Australia has announced their 14-member one-day squad for the tour of India. Marnus Labuschagne was credited for his impressive run in the test format and he was one of the highlights of the Australian squad. He averages 37.83 for Queensland in Australian domestic cricket after his debut back in the year 2015.

(Marnus Labuschagne)

“Similar to the Test team, we are wanting the white ball squad to continue the form of the unbeaten T20 Series against Pakistan and Sri Lanka,” Trevor Hohns, the national selector, was quoted as saying in cricket.com.au.

“The performance of the top order at home through the T20 series was very strong so we look for that to continue in the Indian ODI series. We also believe Marnus Labuschagne is ready for his international white-ball debut after his strong form for Queensland in this form of the game,” Hohns added.

The selectors have showed way out to six players who played for the team in the 2019 World Cup, which include- Mitchell Marsh, Matthew Wade, Nathan Lyon, Glenn Maxwell, Marcus Stoinis and Nathan Coulter Nile.

The reigns of the team will again be commanded by opener Aaron Finch. The fast bowling pair of Sean Abbott and Kane Richardson will get enough assistance from the majestic trio of Pat Cummins, Mitchell Starc and Josh Hazlewood. Adam Zampa and Ashton Agar will be the two spinners in the team.

Australia are yet to lose a limited overs series after a defeat in 2019 World Cup semi-final against eventual winners England.

The series gets underway from January 14 in Mumbai followed by the matches on January 17(Rajkot) and January 19(Bengaluru).

Australia squad for 2020 India tour

Aaron Finch (c), Sean Abbott, Ashton Agar, Alex Carey (vc), Pat Cummins (vc), Peter Handscomb, Josh Hazlewood, Marnus Labuschagne, Kane Richardson, Steven Smith, Mitchell Starc, Ashton Turner, David Warner, Adam Zampa

Related posts