July 24, 2024
CricketFeaturedTop 5/Top 10

Three IPL teams who changed their captains mid season

Three IPL teams who changed their captains mid season

Chennai Super Kings is the only team which has not changed its captain in all the 12 IPL season and it has surely paid dividends. However, all the other seven franchise teams have not sticked with one captain from the starting season in 2008.

Kings XI Punjab have changed their captain for maximum number of times but their trophy cabinet is still empty. Franchise change their captains for the betterment of their team but there have been few instances, where they had to change their captain mid way the season.

3- Steve Smith in place of Ajinkya Rahane

Ajinkya Rahane, vice-captain of Indian test team, lead the charge of Rajasthan Royals in the IPL 2018, as Australian International Steve Smith was ruled out of the IPL due to a ban following his involvement in sandpaper gate controversy. In the 2019 IPL, the team played under the leadership of Rahane, but Rajasthan only won two games in the first eight matches and the team management handed over the command to a returning Steve Smith.

He returned to Australia for preparatory camp for the 2019 World Cup and Rahane was back to lead the side again.

2- Murali Vijay in place of David Miller

Kings XI Punjab retained David Miller in the 2014 IPL auction and handed over the captaincy of the team in 2016. Under the captaincy of Miller, the team lost five out of their six matches in the beginning and he was replaced by Murali Vijay to lead the team. Despite this, the team’s performance did not improve and they finished at the bottom of the table with 4 wins in 14 games.

1- Darren Sammy in place of Shikhar Dhawan

In the 2014 IPL auction, Sunrisers Hyderabad retained Shikhar Dhawan and handed over the reins of the team. However, the burden of captaincy affected the performance of Dhawan with the bat. He did not score a half-century in 10 matches and then Darren Sammy captained the team from the middle of the tournament. In 2015, the team was led by David Warner and went onto become IPL champions in 2016 season.

Related posts