April 16, 2024
2019 Cricket World CupCricketNews

Virender Sehwag picks 15-man India squad for 2019 World cup, key batsman ousted

The build to the upcoming cricket world cup has allready started with less than two months left for cricket’s biggest extravaganza to begin in England and Wales. All the ten participating teams have allready started finalizing their 15-man squad for the event and the final squads will be announced in the coming week.

India led by Virat Kohli last played a bilateral ODI series against Australia at home but the visitors eked out a 3-2 series win. This was India’s last ODI series before the start of the world cup. There are many questions for the team management to answer about the playing XI of the men in blue, especially the number four conundrum after the failure of Ambati Rayudu.

Many former cricketers have also given their expert comment and predicted India’s 15-man squad for the marquee event. This time former India opener Virender Sehwag announced his team for the show piece event.

No Ambati Rayudu in Sehwag’s team
Middle order batsman Ambati Rayudu retires from this format of the game
(PC: Twitter)

The Nawab of Najafgarh had no hesitation in picking Shikhar Dhawan and Rohit Sharma as the openers. In-form KL Rahul has been instrumental for Kings XI Punjab in the ongoing IPL season and remains the backup opener in the team.

Virat Kohli, Kedar Jadhav, Rishabh Pant and MS Dhoni take the middle order slot in the team. All-rounder Hardik Pandya and Vijay Shankar will have the responsibility to show their all-round skills and be the “x” factor in the team. Shankar is likely candidate to acquire the number slot.

On the pacers friendly wickets in England, Sehwag opted to play three spinners in the team. He picked Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Chahal with Ravindra Jadeja being the third spinner in the team.

Jasprit Bumrah, Bhuvneshwar Kumar and Mohammed Shami will be the three pacers in his team.

Virender Sehwag’s 15-man India squad

Virat Kohli (C), Rohit Sharma (VC), Shikhar Dhawan, KL Rahul, Vijay Shankar, Kedar Jadhav, MS Dhoni, Rishabh Pant, Hardik Pandya, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Jasprit Bumrah, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Mohammed Shami, Ravindra Jadeja

List of absentees from the team

Umesh Yadav, Ambati Rayudu

Related posts