July 24, 2024

BCCI announces India’s T20 squad for Bangladesh series, Virat Kohli rested

BCCI announces India's T20 squad for Bangladesh series, Virat Kohli rested

India started their T20 World Cup 2020 preparation with a 1-1 draw series against South Africa that saw the home team facing a big defeat in the last match of the series. The men in blue will face the T20 challenge against neighbours Bangladesh in a three match T20 series starting next month.

The BCCI announced the 15 member Indian T20 side that faced Bangladesh on Thursday. Virat Kohli was given the much needed rest, keeping in my mind his workload management and the amount of cricket he has played in last 9 months. Rohit Sharma will lead the team in his absence.

The selectors retained Shikhar Dhawan, KL Rahul, Rishabh Pant, Shreyas Iyer, Manish Pandey, Deepak Chahar, Washington Sundar, Krunal Pandya , Rahul Chahar and Khaleed Ahmed. A much experienced Shardul Thakur was given a place in the team as he replaces Navdeep Saini, who proved too costly in the series against Proteas. A much fancied Ravindra Jadeja was dropped from the team.Sanju Samson fails Yo-Yo test, ousted from the India "A" squad.

Sanju Samson was given the reward for his blistering 200 runs innings against Goa in the ongoing Vijay Hazare trophy and was given a place in the team. It will be interesting to see if he can be played as the number one wicket keeper batsman in the team over Rishabh Pant.

Mumbai all-rounder Shivam Dube was also rewarded for his impressive run in Vijay Hazare trophy and India A tour. Dube has been prolific with the bat and he is the best possible replacement for Hardik Pandya at the moment.

India’s inexperienced spin department looked off colour against South Africa, keeping this in mind, selectors called back Yuzvendra Chahal in the team.

India’s T20 squad for Bangladesh series

Rohit Sharma(Capt), Shikhar Dhawan, KL Rahul, Sanju Samson, Shreyas Iyer, Manish Pandey, Rishabh Pant(wk), Washington Sundar, Krunal Pandya, Yuzvendra Chahal, Rahul Chahar, Deepak Chahar, Khaleel Ahmed, Shivam Dube, Shardul Thakur


1st T20I, November 3 (Sunday) at Feroz Shah Kotla Ground, New Delhi
2nd T20I, November 7 (Thursday) at Saurashtra Cricket Association ground, Rajkot (Gujarat)
3rd T20I, November 10 (Sunday) at Vidarbha Cricket Association Stadium, Nagpur (Maharashtra)

Related posts