May 25, 2024
2019 Cricket World CupCricketNews

World Cup 2019: Revealing the prize money of participating teams in rupees

World Cup 2019: Revealing the prize money of participating teams in rupees

England has finally become the world champion and the ICC World Cup has got a new world champion after a gap of 23 years. The World Cup started on England soil in 1975 and the home team took 44 years to lift the World Cup trophy. England had lost the finals of 1979, 1987 and 1992 World Cup, but 27 years later they completed their dream of becoming the world champion for the first time. The Eoin Morgan led side thus became the sixth country to win the World Cup.

England defeated New Zealand in a thrilling super over after both teams were tied at 241 runs at the end of 100 overs. However, the umpiring was again under scanner after Marais Erasmus gave 6 run to England that cut down New Zealand’s chances.

The final over of the second innings was going New Zealand’s way with 9 runs needed off 3 balls but then a twist came in the story. Ben Stokes guided the ball and completed two runs before the ball hit his bat and deflected to the boundary to give six runs to England. The Eoin Morgan led side could only complete two runs in last two deliveries which took the game to super over.

England scored 15 runs in the super over courtesy one boundary by Ben Stokes and Jos Buttler. In reply, New Zealand scored 9 runs in starting two balls courtesy a wide, a double and a six by James Neesham.

Neesham scored five runs of next three deliveries by Jofra Archer which brought the equation to 2 off 1 ball. Martin Guptill whipped the ball in front of the deep square fielder- Jason Roy and hurried for the second run but eventually fell short.

After super-overs tie, England were adjudged the winner as they scored more boundaries than New Zealand in the course of 50 overs.

Teams to receive huge sum of money

As per ICC’s media release, the winner of each league stage game will receive a prize money of $40,000.

10- Afghanistan- Rs 68,53,350

The Gulbadin Naib led side came up in the tournament with some promise but they fail to register a single win in the tournament. They put up a fight against India and Pakistan but failed to give the finishing touch.

9- West Indies- Rs 1,23,36,030

The Jason Holder led side started off their campaign with a dominant win over Pakistan in their opener to become the overwhelming favourites to qualify for the semis. They lost seven matches on a trot as the lethal combination of Chris Gayle and Andre Russell failed to fire. They managed to collect five points in 9 games with 2 wins, 6 losses and 1 washed-off game.

8- Bangladesh- Rs 1,50,77,370

The Bangla tigers rode on the brilliance of Shakib-al-Hasan as the all-rounder notched 606 runs and picked 11 wickets in 8 innings. They managed to surprise some of the big teams like South Africa and West Indies. They managed to seven points in 9 games.

(Please open the next page from below to know about their prize money)

Related posts